Homeschooling….it isn’t for the pushovers.

If your a pushover and your children knows it then you’re probably going to struggle your entire homeschooling years and cause major burnout on both you and your child/children. I am not a pro at homeschooling by any means but I am a pro at watching for the steam roller that comes out in my child when he has decided to be head strong. I can usually see the build up and I can brace myself for the exchange that is going to happen. Homeschooling isn’t for the faint of heart for sure! Sometimes I have to dig down and find more stubborn then I realize that I possess. I have to pray, lecture, threat with removing privileges and even sometimes call the principal(gasp). Once the steam roller has started boy is it hard to get stopped. On those days we finish school no matter because one day of “ok, your done with school for the day” and it is score 1 child and 0 parent. I am not very competitive but I wont be beat out by my child.

Here is my sort of plan of action when the steam is building up. Not always am I prepared with the right heart but here is what I try.

Step1: Close your eyes and pray. God gave you this babe for a reason including all the faults that comes with him/her.

Step2: Deep breath (try not to let it turn into a scream)

Step 3: Ask what is wrong with the child? (Be prepared for this answer to come in a whine or cry)

Step 4: LISTEN!!!!!!!! (Sometimes the hardest step for me)

Step 5: Encourage (it goes A LONG way) I tell Rowdy that he wasn’t born knowing everything all at once and I don’t expect him to be perfect at his first few attempts on a subject. I also explain that there are still somethings that at the age of 31 I don’t know. This seems to help him to realize that at every age you are learning.

Step 6: Hug it out. A hug helps them to feel secure in your love for them no matter their attitude.

After all this I usually have to step into another room and straighten myself up because 9 out of 10 times I have lost control and have started crying also. You want them to learn so much and you want it to be easy but it cant be all easy. Life isn’t easy, there are morals to be taught, rules to be remembered and manners to be used.

These steps work for me but I am not perfect at remembering them in the heat of the argument by any means. I am really trying to be a better wife, momma, teacher. I am trying to remember Ephesians 4:29(NKJV) Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

